Are you getting the “User Not Found Instagram” error when looking for someone’s profile? Maybe you tried searching for their username but couldn’t find them?
If you sent the messages in the past and have them in your Instagram chat history, you may receive this message when you try to access their profile from the direct messages tool. There are several causes for this, and it does not always indicate that you have been blocked.
If you’re wondering what it means when Instagram says “User not found,” read on. We will explain all probable causes for this problem and make recommendations for potential solutions.
What does “User Not Found Instagram” Mean?
“User Not Found Instagram” indicates that the user has either changed their username, blocked you, deleted or disabled their account, or suspended their account.
When you visit someone’s Instagram profile page on the Instagram app or try to look up their Instagram posts, you’ll receive this error.
There are a few techniques to determine the actual source of this problem, and I’d want to go over each one in-depth today.
User deleted their Account
Although less common, we can’t rule out the possibility that the individual simply deactivated their Instagram account. When a person deletes their Instagram account, all the account’s material, including Instagram posts and comments, is also deleted.
The deleted account will no longer appear in Instagram search results or in any of your following or follower lists. The best approach to see if someone has deleted their Instagram account is to check it up on another account.
User Changed Username
When a person changes their username to something different, the most typical reason for receiving a “User not found” notification is because they changed it.
Instagram allows users to change their username at any moment, and if they do, you won’t be able to find them using their old handle, and it will appear as if their profile no longer exists.
If you still get this notice after accessing their profile from the chat history, you’ve been blocked, as I’ll explain in the next paragraph.
You are blocked
The most typical cause of this error is when someone on Instagram has blocked you. When someone blocks you on Instagram, their profile will no longer appear in Instagram’s search results. You may still see their profile in your recent searches, but when you click it, you’ll see this error notice.
Similarly, you will be able to send messages to the profile you suspect of blocking you if you have a conversation history with them.
However, their Instagram profile photo will revert to default, and you will receive this error when you click on their page. However, before jumping to any conclusions, it’s always a good idea to double-check whether this is the case. Your profile should still be available to others even if the person has blocked it.
Visit the person’s profile from another Instagram account you have access to make ensure you have been truly barred. If you can access their profile from your other account, you’ve been blocked.
Their account may be suspended
Users who do not obey the Instagram platform’s rules and community guidelines risk having their accounts suspended. When an account is banned on Instagram, there is no visible indication that it has been suspended, unlike on Twitter.
They break Instagram’s rules and get their account suspended. Users who have been banned by Instagram profiles can still file an appeal to have their account reopened, but there is nothing you can do if their account remains prohibited.